Another Year

Well that’s another year over, and what have you done?

I’ve been looking back to see what I’ve done this year and there’s lots of things that I haven’t done.  For example, I didn’t write a book.

Let me put that in some context.  I finished a book, sent it to my editor and got such bad feedback I decided to completely rewrite it – I’m about 25,000 words in, but I’ve just arranged to get that assessed because I’m not convinced it’s working.  I also wrote over 60,000 words for NaNoWriMo, but that was a start and an end, but there’s this big gaping hole in the middle of the story that I still haven’t written. One day.

I have also had 68 articles published on Warped Factor, which is something I only started this year, so am pleased that I’ve managed to keep up so much.  All are original articles, a mix of comic, film and TV reviews, one off articles.

News came through at the end of last year that I had been accepted for inclusion in an anthology, well that anthology came out in June.  My story, The Steel Inside, is one of nine in steampunk anthology, Steel and Bone, each around 10,000 words long.  This year I’ve been lucky enough to have a further two stories accepted for anthologies to come out in 2016.

I’ve taken to Tweeting, and posting as an author on Facebook, which is new and odd, and I need to do it more, only I don’t want to let that take over from actually writing.  I also managed to edit eleven full manuscripts for other writers, of quality wide ranging and inconsistent.

During the year, I also attended a couple of writers conferences and at one was lucky enough to have four agents – yes four – ask to see my full manuscript.  It was duly sent and one of the four accepted!  I actually have an agent, at long last.  I can’t tell you how happy I am with that news.  Well okay, yes I can, jubilant, ecstatic, over the moon.  All clichés of course, but I have to say that it’s a great relief to find at last that someone thinks I am worthy or real publication.

That’s something else that I have to be thankful for.  I’ve realised that I have some great friends.  Very supportive and encouraging friends.  People who reassure me in the darkest moments when I think that all my scribbling is for nothing.

All in all it’s been a good, if rather different kind of year in writing for me.  I’ve enjoyed it.  I hope that this next year will also bring some new and exciting developments.  Here’s to the new year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

