Are You Ready for NaNoWriMo

Are you ready for National Novel Writing Month?  If you’ve never heard of NaNoWriMo, have you been hiding under a hedge?

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

This is an American initiative whose ultimate aim is to promote literacy, especially among children.  Though NaNoWriMo has spread much wider the the US borders and is enjoyed by millions.

The point is to write 50,000 words in one calendar month.  That’s 1,667 words a day.  The thing to do is just write, never mind editing, just write to get through the story, get the first draft down so you can really pull it all into focus through the editing.

I find NaNoWriMo both a joy and a pain, aside from anything else, my birthday is in November, so that’s one evening when I don’t get to write, so I’m up to 1,725 words a day to get done. I work full time and it’s inevitable that I’ll get some editing work in too.

That said, I have participated in the last 3 NaNoWriMos and I have managed over 50,000 words on each one 2013 – 71,389 words, 2014 -50,044 words, and 2015 – 60,088 words. The first two year resulted in the first two books of my Locked series, the third was a book I still haven’t found a middle for, and probably never will now.

Now as we run up to the big event is the time to make sure that you have at least a good idea of what book you’re going to write.

I thought I had it sorted.  I thought I was going to write the third in my Locked series, which is all plotted out and I was ready to write it through.  Then I got an email from my agent.  I’d sent a manuscript and an idea in May, so five months later, and having not heard I’d largely forgotten about the idea.  But now I’ve got to figure out the plot line, the characters, do the research and all the rest, and get it all done before November 1st.  Not entirely sure that this is going to work, but one can but try.

So are you prepared to NaNoWriMo?  If not, you’ve still a little time to get ready, and the website is ready to give you lots of help, see their prep pages.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Are You Ready for NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Are You Ready for NaNoWriMo | gailbwilliams.co.uk

Leave a Reply

